Andrew McMahon (where have you been all my life?)

As a faithful Radio 104.5 listener, there are countless songs I’ve heard played by the station that I’ve liked but never done further research. “Cecilia and The Satellite” by Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness has been played on that station since 2014 and I’ve been fond of it since the first time I heard it. I’ve heard a few things about Andrew McMahon, but I never took the time to listen to his other music. In this little lull I’m having between semesters I’m pursuing a search for new music. (The hustle to find new music, new bands, and new vibes never sleeps). One of these pursuits included research on Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness.

am

Andrew McMahon is a renaissance-music-man (I just made that up but it makes sense, just listen). He was the lead vocalist, pianist, and songwriter of the early 2000s alternative group, Something Corporate. Remember early 2000s alternative? Yeah, I try not to, either. He then split from that group and formed the pop-punk Jack’s Mannequin. Pop-punk is a completely different animal… Now, he’s settled down as Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness, capturing an indie-electric sound. I’m glad that he’s made the journey and landed on indie-pop.

am2

Coincidentally, he released a single today off his new album which comes out next month! “So Close” is the third single he has released from the new album Zombies On Broadway; preceded by “Brooklyn, You’re Killing Me” and “Walking In My Sleep”. Upon a first round listen, “So Close” is immediately a full-volume, dance-along-shamelessly song. It reminds me a lot of Smallpools’ sound. If you’re looking for a song to swing you into the new year, this is it. “Brooklyn, You’re Killing Me” gave me major Twenty One Pilots vibes-do with that what you will. “Walking In My Sleep” had a Lumineers feel to it with less electronic emphasis and heavy guitar strumming throughout. (Sorry for all of the cross-referencing, I haven’t listened to enough of his music to compare it across the board just yet.) As of now, Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness is looking promising. Admittedly, I’ve been listening to a surplus of mopey music lately. The cold weather and lack of sunlight exposure makes me want to hibernate. This reintroduction to indie pop has definitely stirred me from hibernation.

Follow me on Spotify here.

Leave a Reply

